Wet Dream

The trick with a dream is to capture it as quickly as possible after waking up, because it will evaporate like mist before the rising sun, if left too late.  Dreams are best remembered on waking up leisurely, the slow emergence from the deep pool of sleep gently kicking and wide strokes of the arms swiming upwards towards the light of day. One always appears younger, leaner and more handsome in the mirror of a dream than in reality. Here is an account of my dream…

I sit on the pavement outside the venue in Rustenburg where we are releasing a Policy Gap report on diamond mining, strange this because Kimberley would have been more appropriate as the former mecca of diamond mining in the world, but then a dream is a dream. It is at night, all other reports were released during the day. This event takes the usual form with the media, the mining companies, the communities and the Foundation staff all present. At regular intervals company representatives enraged at the bad image the report is creating, storm angrily out of the venue, cussing and mumbling under their breath, swearing all kinds of horrors on the Foundation.

Eventually the event passes, and everyone mingles around the refreshments on offer, coffee, tea, juice and a finger meal. People chitchat about the event, the report and the impact of the mining industry. Cameras flash, journalists talk and ask questions.

A pretty young woman takes my hand and leads me to the change rooms. This must be some kind of sports club, the Rustenburg golf club perhaps. It is strange that the Foundation launched a report here. This is completely out of character. The event is over, everyone has left except us. She is familiar, yet I do not know her. She is completely at ease with me, she knows my name.

In the change room, we eagerly undress and get under a shower. Her face is radiant, slightly chubby; her teeth perfectly shaped as she smiles and looks at me her almond shaped eyes filled with desire. We turn on the shower and I gently begin to soap around her neck and breasts. I marvel at her soft and smooth brown skin, which glistens under the soapy water. She presses herself up against me, her eyes enquiring, imploring, alluring. We are aware of our inadequacies even in our dreams, and I experience a fleeting moment of panic about my inability to effect and maintain an erection. Her body against mine reassures me, I feel the desire flooding through my lower abdomen. I anticipate making love with her.

The security guards are at the door and we hastily retreat into the darkest recesses of the change room. We leave behind our clothes and the running shower. I hope that the guard will not notice our presence. We are not supposed to be here, this is not supposed to happen.

The security guard leads us out of the change room, wrapped in towels, dripping wet, our clothes bundled under our arms. “Mr van Wyk, I understand, but I never expected this from you…,” the guard says as I wonder about the consequences and regret not having suggested to the young woman that we book in somewhere instead of going to the change rooms. How does the security guard even know who I am?

4 comments

  1. Firstly, thank you for so openly sharing your dream. Dreams are very personal and most often relate to the specific time in ones life when the dream came.

    Nextly (sic), I have taken certain words and phrases from your writing which, for me, fit together to form a message:
    – Policy Gap report on diamond mining
    – It is at night
    – enraged at the bad image the report is creating
    – at ease with me
    – eyes enquiring, imploring, alluring
    – panic about my inability
    – reassures me
    – retreat into the darkest recesses
    – I never expected this from you
    – wonder about the consequences

    The woman in your dream may represent an idea you have (I take it surrounding your day job, being something to do with mining), which has been pushed away or logged into the back of your mind. The repetition of night and darkness tells me it is something which you are not willing to let out into the open, to see the light of day. Your ease with the woman as well as her inquiring, imploring and alluring eyes, only more fortify that the idea has long been with you and it wants to come to be.
    The enraged company representatives coupled with the very specific words of, “I never expected this from you…” and you wondering about the consequences, is a direct relation to your own fears or lack of confidence with this idea.

    Forgive me if I have spoken out of turn, but I feel that such a personal message deserves a personal response. I’m no dream therapist either, I just listen to my intuition when it comes and when I saw the first few lines of your post, I knew I had to respond in the only way I can. With love and understanding.

    Respect to you sir
    Basil

  2. Dear writingthebasil. Your response is intelligent and most interesting. Particularly the manner in which you deconstructed the piece. Your comments are most welcome. May I make some brief remarks in reply? I work alone from home, so there is very little interaction with others except when I am out doing field work. Yes I do research on the impact of mines on near mine communities and the environment. I am in a permanent relationship, and have no interest in anyone else outside that relationship. I recorded the dream because it was so filled with surprising contradictions. Thanks for your very systematic analysis of the dream. I have recorded a number of other interesting dreams which I will publish. I would be most interested in your informed comments on these dreams as well.

  3. Thanks David, I’m glad you appreciated it. And hey, it’s your dream, of course you can reply to my comments 🙂
    I look forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply, you know you want to...

